We’re beyond thankful to FFG for dropping the Quickstart Rules a couple of months ago, letting us get a good foundation for gameplay and even start playing some demo games! If you’re anything like us though, it didn’t take long to start running into rules interactions that the Quickstart Rules simply do not address.
Our friends over at SWU Holocron have been doing a good job of keeping track of Official answers and community answers to as many rules questions that have come up, but it is important to note that there are quite a few lacking Official FFG responses!
We did what any sane human being would do at this point and went straight to the source. Below is what we were told by a group of Star Wars Unlimited game designers, including the “Rules Lawyer” himself, Game designer Ryan Serrano!
Q: If Fett’s Firespray (SOR#184) is given ambush (Admiral Piett (SOR#79) or Energy Conversion lab (SOR#022), can it attack with ambush and then ready if it spots Boba Fett after the ambush attack?
A: That’s correct! These triggers are at the same time, so the active player can choose the order allowing you to ready Fett’s Firespray after it finishes resolving its ambush attack. Another cool interaction in the same vein, Shielded and Ambush also trigger at the same time. This means that when you play Count Dooku (SOR#038), you could resolve Ambush first to attack a unit and shield him after the attack completes. Any time a player controls multiple simultaneous triggers, they can resolve them in any order.
Q: Do “when this unit completes an attack” abilities trigger if they are defeated in attack? ie. Ezra Bridger (SOR#192), Leia Organa Leader (SOR#009)
A: No, all steps of the attack outlined in the QuickStart rules must be completed before an attack is “complete.” The unit has to survive combat damage.
Q: Does Agent Kallus’ (SOR#115) card draw ability trigger if he is defeated in the same attack he defeats a unique unit?
A: Yes! If Kallus is defeated simultaneously with another unique unit, he still sees that defeat and triggers. As a general rule, units always see themselves get defeated as well as seeing any other simultaneously defeated units- whether this is through combat or another effect.
Q: Shield tokens and Experience tokens are upgrades targetable by cards like Aggression (SOR#155) and Disabling Fang Fighter (SOR#162), correct?
A: Correct. Experience and Shields are both upgrades (as noted on the top of the card and by the templating) and can be interacted with by any card ability that specifically references upgrades.
Q: Do cards that reference cost include aspect penalty? ie. Does a 5 cost Chewbacca (SOR#196) played out of aspect at 7 trigger Admiral Piett’s (SOR#079) ability?
A: No. If a card like Admiral Piett checks the cost of another card as an attribute, he only looks at the number physically printed in the upper left corner of the card.
Q: Are leaders always in play? ie. Boba Fett unit (SOR#179) can trigger his ability the same round a leader is deployed. Boba Fett’s (SOR#015) Leader ability doesn’t trigger when a leader is defeated
A: Leaders are always in play despite what state they are in (Leader vs Unit). They enter the game in play as a Leader, and remain in play as they transition to a Unit and potentially back to the Leader state if they are defeated. Abilities that reference when a card enters play or leaves play won’t interact with a Leader being deployed or defeated.
Q: How do aspect penalties factor in with reduced cost cards? ie. How does You’re my only Hope interact with an aspect penalty card?
A: In general, you will apply any effects that increase the cost (including aspect penalties), and then apply any effects that reduce the cost. In your example, if you use You’re My Only Hope (SOR#246) to play a 4-cost card that incurs an aspect penalty raising it to a 6 cost, that card would end up costing 1 resource (4 + 2 – 5 = 1). Important to note that if you meet You’re My Only Hope’s condition to play the card for free, that will override all aspect penalties! No matter how many aspect penalties it would have, it would still cost 0.
Q: If you use Change of Heart (SOR#224) to steal an opponent’s character who has a When Defeated ability and then defeat that unit, who gets to claim the When Defeated ability?
A: The player who controls the unit at the time it is defeated gets to use the When Defeated ability. This means that if you play Change of Heart to steal your opponent’s Obi Wan Kenobi (SOR#049) and your opponent defeats them, you will get to give one of your other friendly units 2 experience tokens, and draw a card if it is a Force unit.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I know that last Change of Heart question, especially, was a hot topic of debate on Reddit!
Thanks again to FFG and Ryan Serrano for confirming a lot of our early questions. They plan on putting out an official FAQ closer to game release and a full Rules document that will go a lot more in depth. Keep an eye out on the official website where those documents will live.




Leave a reply to Garbage Rollers Cancel reply